The architectural complex of Clerics, considered a National Monument since 1910, is one of the main points of interest for its Tower, Museum and Church, and a must-see location for all those who visit the city of Porto.
The church and the Tower are part of a baroque-inspired building from the 18th century, which marked the city's urban configuration, located on an uneven street, but brilliantly used by Nicolau Nasoni, who managed to create a landmark building. The Church and the Tower are adjoined to the House of the Brotherhood, which since 2014, after it became a museum, is open to the public.
In the year 1753, at the request of the Brotherhood of Clerics, the Italian architect Nicolau Nasoni presented the project for a bell tower, and in 1754 they would start the works of what would become the most beautiful Tower, dominating the entire urban landscape of Porto. In July 1763, with the placing of the iron cross on the top, and the image of St. Paul in the niche above the door, its construction was finished.
The baroque characteristics that define it are the maximum expression of the baroque spectacular, where the typical motifs of this style give the tower movement and beauty.
At more than 75m high, after climbing 225 steps and reaching the top of the tower, the view over the city is absolutely stunning. From a 360° perspective, visitors can enjoy a unique moment, whether day or night, when in special times, the tower opens its doors until 9 PM.
The Tower of the Clerics is undeniably the ex-libris of the city, and an excellent viewpoint.
Every day: 09:00am - 07:00pm
Palácio da Bolsa
Palácio da Bolsa
The construction of the Palácio da Bolsa, or Porto Commercial Association, a neoclassical style building, started on the 6th of October of 1842, the day where the first stone was put to place, due to the closure of the stock exchange that obliged the Porto traders to discuss their business on open air. The more of 180 years of existence have its origin in the night of the 24th of July of 1832, during the siege of Porto, during which a gigantic fire broke out in the convent of S. Francisco, destroying it almost completely, as only the church, which still exists today, remained. It was upon these ruins of the ancient convent, later donated by D. Maria II, that the traders built the Palácio da Bolsa in order to establish in it the Stock Exchange and the Court of First Instance. Curiously, in order to prevent eventual financial problems due to the excessive financial burden of the construction itself, the Queen ordered that the Porto Commercial Association would have at its disposal an extraordinary revenue for a period of ten years, over all products circulating the Porto customs.
With a mixture of architectonical styles, the building presents in all its splendour traces of the eighteenth century neoclassical style, Tuscany architecture, as well as, English Neo-Palladian style.
The building was built throughout almost 70 years, had six main architects, dozens of engravers, plasterers, painters, gilders, mason bricklayer and hundreds of blue-collar workers, who always gave their best.
Authentic real life classroom, the Palácio da Bolsa, apart from being a unique and exclusive location, attracts annually more than 450.000 thousand visitants, being therefore one of the most visited monuments in the North of Portugal.
Visiting room of the city and region, it is here where all the official receptions in the North of Portugal are held. Many heads of state and dignitaries of almost all countries in the world have passed through here. It was one of the buildings integrated in the candidacy of the old Porto to become World Heritage Site by UNESCO.
April to October: 09:00am - 06:30pm
November to March: 09:00am - 12:30am | 02:30pm - 05:30pm
The MMIPO - Museu da Misericórdia do Porto is located in the historic centre of Porto, in the Rua das Flores, at the building that used to be the head office of the institution from the mid 16th century up to 2013.
Over the years, the building suffered a number of interventions, the last of which, was its adaptation for museum facilities.
The MMIPO has a double purpose, one is letting people know the history of the Misericórdia do Porto and its institutional purposes, and the other is to divulge its artistic collections, through a set of resources that reflect the memory and the identity of the organization, projecting it into the future.
The visit to the Museum is also an opportunity to get to know better the past and the future of this part of town.
The museological space includes the Misericórdia Church and the Gallery of Benefactors, an example of the architecture of iron and glass in the city. Built in the sixteenth century, the church received a major intervention in the 18th century with a predominant involvement of Nicolau Nasoni.
April to September: 10:00am - 06:30pm
October to March: 10:00am - 05:30pm